MLK said it best when he proclaimed, “I have a dream.” He dreamed of a different world and he pursued that vision with passion and resolve fitting for a life mission.  I think his dream came true.  I believe we can all learn a lot from Mr. King in that respect.  I’ve had many dreams; when I was younger I dreamed of being a doctor, a lawyer, a fireman, and a policeman just to name a few.  If I had been born a girl, I probably would have been dreaming of becoming an actress, a teacher, a beauty queen, my wedding day. At some point we all had unrestricted dreams for the future.

Why do we dream of being more? What is it in us that makes us thrive for self actualization and improvement.  The need to dream is as a real as any physical part of us, as real as our need to be loved or our need for security.  We have a need to constantly become more and more of who we are, of what we are capable of through actualization – the process of giving substance to or making something concrete.

Langston Hughes said, “Hold fast to dreams, for if dreams die, life is a broken winged bird that cannot fly.”

So hold on to your dreams, whether they’re big or small, and dare to dream the impossible.  By accomplishing the small dreams, the big ones will appear more plausible. President Obama had an impossible dream, So did the Wright brothers, Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela.  They also knew that impossible was just a word.

So I ask you what do your dreams look like? Are there dreams you have forgotten, given up on, or let lay dormant now that you’re a mother, father, husband, wife, employee, or boss…or is there still something left, a thirst for more that pulls at your spirit in those quiet moments, reminding you of things you still long to do.

As I sat in my living room 9 years ago, I had to ask myself those same questions as a I contemplated if life was worth living. At a time when I was so disappointed in self and so full of hate directed towards the man in the mirror, I asked myself “Is this it?, Is this as good as it gets? How did I become so afraid of life? What has happened to my dreams?”

At that moment my mindset changed and I accepted the challenge of life.  See I realized that day, and every day after, that dreams CAN be lived!

When I was 20 years old I worked at a gym and I loved helping people work out.  I dreamed that one day I would own a gym and 7 years ago I started All About U Fitness.

When I was a teenager I dreamed of one day being a leader, to be in a position to empower others and be self-sufficient.  I wanted to be a motivational speaker and a life coach.  5 months ago I joined ToastMasters and have since then headlined my first speaking engagement.

See I think I’ve figured out the basics- If you have enough

Desire to turn your thoughts into a

Reality, and be willing to invest enough

Energy and

Accept that the journey is not a sprint, but a

Marathon,

Then one day when someone asks you how you’re doing, you can reply, ” I’m living the dream!”

It’s your life, get to living!

***THIS BLOG INSPIRED MY WINNING SPEECH FOR TOASTMASTERS , TO VIEW IT PLEASE VISIT THE  SOARING HIGHER GARAGE LINK ABOVE. REGIONALS COMING UP IN MARCH!

